Palo Alto MTAC Branch
Search for a Teacher
Enter a name, instrument,
city, zip, etc.
The Rabinowitch Competition was established in memory of the piano teacher and Palo Alto Branch president, Thera Rabinowitch, by her family, to reward students of the Palo Alto Branch for outstanding musical performance.

The 2019 Rabinowitch Competition

Rabinowitch General Info & Application

Rabinowitch Evaluation

Divisions School Grade Time Limit Repertoire


5-7 8 min 2-3 pieces of contrasting style from standard classical repertoire
Middle 8-9 12 min
Upper 10-12 15 min

Medals will be awarded to the chosen three Placements. 
First place winner will receive cash prize besides Medal. 
First prize winners of the previous academic year may not enter the competition in the same division.

  • Competition pieces must be timed accurately. If the program exceeds the time limit, the chair person will request the teacher to eliminate one of the pieces.
  • Teachers who enter students will be requested to assist with running the competition.
  • All winners will be announced at the end of the competition.
  • THE JUDGES' DECISIONS ARE FINAL. Contacting the Judges before, during or after the competition is unethical and inappropriate.
  • First Place winners must be present to receive their awards at the Winners' Recital.
  • An original music score (no photocopies) must be provided for Judges.

Important information for the 2019 Thera Rabinowitch competition:

Date: Saturday May 4th, 2019
Time: 1:30pm - 7:30pm
Location: Palo Alto Art Center, 1313 Newell Road, Palo Alto
Winners’ concert:  Sunday May 12th, 2019 at 2pm at Palo Alto Art Center
Deadline for submitting applications: Friday April 19th, 2019

How To Apply:
1) Fill out one Application Form and 2 copies of the Evaluation Form (repertoire section) per entry. 
2) Send / deliver the above along with one check per teacher (for the sum of all the teacher’s entries) to Ellen Leung (see address below) by the application deadline.
The Application fee is $50 for Lower Division, $60 Middle Division and $70 Upper Division.
 Please make checks payable to MTAC Palo Alto Branch.

All notification of competition schedule and result will be sent to teachers via email.

For any other questions, please to contact:

Ellen Leung, 1013 Bluebonnet Dr., Sunnyvale, CA 94086

The Thera Rabinowitch Memorial Competition results for 2019


1st Edward Huang
      (teacher: Natalia Hanukai)

2nd Daniel Lief
     (teacher: Patty Lee)

2nd Aaron Tu
     (teacher: Lena Grozman)

3rd Karen Baba
     (teacher: Lena Grozman)

3rd Rohan Ramkumar
     (teacher: Mina Furmansky)


1st Riley Kong
     (teacher: Lena Grozman)

2nd Lawrence Long
     (teacher: Era Lifschiftz)

2nd William Sun
     (teacher: Era Lifschiftz)

3rd Emma Lee
     (teacher: Anna Semyanovsky)

3rd Christine Watts
     (teacher: Ellen Leung)

Honorable Mention:

Joseph Rose
     (teacher: Virginia Fruchtermann)

Irene Tang
     (teacher: Era Lifschiftz)


1st Christopher Yao
     (teacher: Joyce Yang)

2nd Nicolas Rault-Wang
     (teacher: Nurit Barlev)

2nd Aviv Shai
     (teacher: Nurit Barlev)

  Home | Officers & Committees | Code of Ethics | Teacher Directory | Board Meetings | Student Recitals | Teacher Recitals |
  Branch Honors Recitals | Performance Group | Music in the Schools Foundation | State Programs | Calendar |